//
you're reading...
Film, Science Fiction

Replicating a cult classic

Blade Runner is back. Probably.

Reports are that Ridley Scott is going to direct a follow-up to one of the best sci-fi films of all time.Blade Runner poster: IMDB

Mention a follow-up to a much-loved classic and it sends a lot of people running for the green ink and poison pens. This, I think will be different. Ridley’s directing.

In fact, it’s rather exciting – I believe the correct term might even by Squeeeee.

The original movie, had that perfect combination of dystopian noir, action, character and story, it was/is absolutely brilliant.

I loved every minute of it. I loved the cod-Phillip Marlowe narration, yes even the bit at the end when Deckard bangs on about Roy’s new found respect for life:

I don’t know why he saved my life. Maybe in those last moments he loved life more than he ever had before. Not just his life – anybody’s life; my life.

Yes, I know it is to subtlety and nuance what the Greek economy is to financial prudence, but I adore it.

In fact, here’s a little confession: despite the fact that the movie buff in me says I should prefer the Director’s cut, and while I acknowledge it’s brilliance, the 13-year-old me still loves the narrated version.

And with lines like “They don’t advertise for killers in the newspaper. That was my profession. Ex-cop. Ex-Blade Runner” can you not see why?

I know it’s sacrilege but its true.

I loved the visuals, but I loved the dialogue too. I remember telling a friend about the Rutger Hauer’s amazing death speech, warning him that he’d cry at the end and feeling especially delighted when he told me he had.

Yes, some of the narration was as clunky as chewing on LEGO but its lines about the expense of the owl, about bright lights burning half as long and the little corporate blimp plugs which made the movie different from other early 80s sci-fi fare.

I am still amazed when people tell me they haven’t seen it. It’s one of the few things I have ever been evangelical about. It’s a small list which pretty much consists of Blade Runner, Spaced, Monty Python, Doctor Who and The Housemartins.

I have owned this film since 1985. I still have the VHS copy, even though I don’t have a video player anymore. I can’t bear to throw it out.

So news of a prospective new movie is a big deal, at least it is to me.

Had news of a Scott free sequel or prequel been announced – we’re still not sure which – I think I would have been worried, but Ridley is on board – he can make drying paint visually compelling – so as long as he remains attached, I’m fairly confident we’re not in for a Phantom Menace style letdown. I don’t think I could bear another one of those…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

